top of page

Alex's Amazing Transformation @ RTC

One year ago, Alex Thomas walked through Ronin's doors to advertise for a local Smoothie King restaurant. Little did she know it would be the start to a whole new beginning for her. Alex was in school, working full time as a manager at Smoothie King, and juggling family issues at the start of her transformation. With the help of Muay Thai classes, fitness classes, and all the members at RoninTC, Alex has since LOST 70 POUNDS. Now graduated, working for Nationwide Children's Hospital, and engaged to her long time BF (who also trains), we'd say this is one heck of a transformation!

We think her transformation is incredible, so we asked her a few questions about her journey...

1.) Roughly how much weight have you lost, and in what time?

I’ve lost about 65-70lbs in the last year. I started at almost 220 and I now weigh 150!

2.) What has helped you?

I can get bogged down by my own negative thoughts, so working out on my own just doesn’t work. I tend not to push myself or hold myself as accountable as I do when working out with people who have the same goals as me. The whole atmosphere completely changes. I want to help them achieve their goals and want the same for me. Ronin’s sense of community drew me in quickly, and before I knew it I was looking forward to the challenge each workout brought because I knew we would get through it together.

3.) What are the biggest changes you’ve made in your physical workouts and food choices?

I’ve become more mindful as to what I eat and do during the day. It’s crazy when you realize how much better you feel physically and mentally when you start making little changes during the day, like taking the stairs or having a salad instead of a hamburger. It sounds cheesy, but there’s no shortcuts to living healthy. I also realized that what works for other people may not be the best for me, so having nutritional conversations with the people around you can often give insight as to what avenues you can try. I experimented a lot with my food choices before I found a system that worked for me but it’s important to be patient while you figure out what your body needs.

4.) What are your next goals?

I’ve started competing in Muay Thai recently. It wasn’t an initial goal of mine when I started at Ronin but I was having so much fun I thought, “Why not?”

I want to keep pushing myself beyond where I am now. Even though I’m proud of myself for what I’ve accomplished, I don’t want to be “satisfied”. Right now I’m training for some fights that are in the next few months and I want to cut to 135. For my last fight, I fought at 147 and that was crazy for me because I hadn’t weighed that since elementary school! (I was a big kid xD) Sometimes I’m nervous that I won’t make weight or I might not be ready but then I remind myself that a year ago, I weighed 220! I used to tell myself I would never feel healthy or fit again. Now I realize that I really can do anything I set my mind to and with my coaches and training partners behind me, I will be ready for the next challenge I set for myself.

5.) What would you tell other beginners starting on a new fitness journey?

Stick with a routine and BE PATIENT! Things don’t happen overnight. There are no shortcuts to getting in shape or losing weight. It takes time and effort. And yes, there were days when I got discouraged and wanted to quit, but it’s important to remind yourself why you’re doing this or why you set this goal for yourself. It’s not easy, but I can promise you that once a month or two or three has passed and you look back at where you were versus where you are now you will feel so proud of yourself! Start slow and don’t compare yourself to the people around you. Just remember: Don’t be better than anyone else, just be better than you were the day before.

We couldn't be more proud of you, Alex! We are blessed to have you as a part of our team and look forward to smashing more of your goals together. Come be apart of Alex's and so many others' incredible transformations at Ronin Training Center!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page